SanRemo is one of the best Italian bakeries in Toronto. It has an assortment of freshly baked breads, pastries, donuts and  gelatos.  In addition there is an espresso bar and a hot Italian table serving various items such as paninis, sandwiches, pizza and chicken/veal parm.

I have been there on a few occasions and once you enter you realize why it is so popular and considered one of the best Italian bakeries in the city!  There is such an assortment on items and everything is extremely fresh!  On my first visit, I was there at 8:30 on a Sunday morning and it was already really packed!

Donuts are among their most popular items. At $1.40 a donut or I believe $14 for 12, the price is significantly less than in other gourmet donuts shops in the city (such as Rolling Pin, Glory Hole, Jelly modern donuts), but quality wise its comparable.

On my first visit to SanRemo, I had the following donuts.  Pictured below is the Black Forest, Nutella, Lemon Meringue and the Chocolate Walnut.

donuts1

With the exception of the chocolate walnut, all of them were really delicious.  The Nutella one really stood and was mouth watering! I also really liked the black forest donut.

On my next trip to SanRemo on Christmas eve, I had the following donuts. Pictured below are the Gingerbread, Nutella, Rumnog and the Apple Fritter.

 

donuts2.jpg

 

The Christmas Rumnog and Gingerbread were really good. I was hoping to try the Jagrnog but they had sold out that day. The apple fritter was pretty good as well.

Overall the donuts are definitely worth it as it is essentially just slightly more in price than Tim Horton’s, but much better in terms of quality. I wouldn’t go as far as saying they are as good as Rolling pin, but they are close!

I tried a few of their baked breads.  The olive and pepper breads are really good. The pepper bread has a nice kick to it!  Both taste really fresh.

olive bread.jpg

Although it is an Italian bakery, the croissants are really good I tried both the plain ones and the ones with fillings (Nutella,Rasberry). My preference is the plain ones as the Nutella ones just seemed to be a slight overkill with so much Nutella, but nevertheless still good!

Their Christmas assorted pastries were also quiet good. The cannolis and rum balls in particular stood out to me as you could taste how fresh they were!

 

pastries

I have yet to try their hot table, but I have heard many great things about it! I look forward to trying the paninis or chicken/veal parm on my next visit!

 

SanRemo Bakery

374 Royal York Road, Etobicoke

